Printed or PDF curriculum · Updated September 4, 2026
Kindy vs The Peaceful Preschool
The Peaceful Preschool, by Jennifer Pepito of The Peaceful Press, is a 26-week letter-of-the-week curriculum for ages 3 to 5 sold as a $49 PDF or $99 print bundle, pairing each letter with a picture book, a craft, a practical life skill and math and motor activities, faith-friendly with optional Bible verse cards but no religious instruction. Kindy is a $9.99 a month parent-led preschool curriculum that places the child by a free readiness check and gives the parent one 10 to 15 minute activity a day, adjusting from how each one went. Both are screen-free and parent-led. Choose The Peaceful Preschool for a gentle, literature-based letter-a-week rhythm. Choose Kindy for a plan that starts from your child and covers readiness beyond letters.
Choose Kindy if
- Your child already knows some letters and you do not want to start at A
- You want listening, social and self-help skills built in as daily practice
- You have 10 to 15 minutes a day and want the activity chosen for you
- You want to see progress rather than count weeks
Choose The Peaceful Preschool if
- You love the letter-of-the-week rhythm with a picture book at its heart
- You want practical life and nature woven into each week
- You appreciate a faith-friendly tone with optional scripture
- You want a one-time purchase and enjoy sourcing the book list
At a glance
| Kindy | The Peaceful Preschool | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $9.99 per month, $4.99 per month for each additional child, cancel anytime in the app | $49 PDF or $99 print bundle, one-time |
| Free option or trial | Free readiness assessment with full results kept in the account; no card needed; subscribe only if you want the daily curriculum | Free downloadable sample offered before purchase (FAQ: "download our free sample before you purchase") |
| Ages | 3-5 (the two to three years before kindergarten); placement is by ability, not age | 3-5 |
| Who is on the screen | The parent only | Nobody |
| Format | web app for the parent (installable on a phone); activities are done hands-on, off screen | PDF (print-at-home) with an optional third-party-printed bundle |
| Time per day | One 10 to 15 minute activity a day; the app offers more on energetic days | Not stated on the official product page. Third-party review (The Miller Acres, published 2024-06-05) reports core lessons take "around 15-20 minutes," run 4 days a week with the 5th day "reserved for field trips or fun activities," and that some activities (cooking, nature walks) take longer. |
| How it adapts to the child | Every activity ends with one tap on how it went (Nailed it, Almost, Not yet). Three Nailed it ratings mark a skill mastered and it leaves the rotation; mastered letters and skills circle back for quick reviews so they stick. The next day's activity is chosen from the child's current level across all areas. | Parents may "adapt certain things to fit the needs of your young child, or move more slowly through the resource" (official FAQ). No formal assessment or leveling system is described. |
| How the child is placed | By a readiness assessment | No placement, fixed sequence |
| Skills covered | literacy (letters, sounds, print awareness), early math (counting, number sense, shapes), language (vocabulary, storytelling, listening), thinking (problem solving, memory), social-emotional (sharing, manners, separation, feelings), fine motor (pencil grip, scissors, self-help), focus and self-control | letter recognition (uppercase and lowercase, print and cursive), phonics / sensory-based letter sounds, counting (numbers 1-10), fine motor skills, gross motor skills, practical life skills, art and craft, nature exploration, read-alouds / literature |
| Secular or faith-based | secular | Faith-friendly with optional faith content: official FAQ states "The Peaceful Preschool include[s] optional Bible Verse cards (a free download) but do not contain religious instruction." The bundle product page separately describes the content as "wholesome" and for families "seeking the Good, True, and Beautiful." |
| What the parent does | The parent reads today's activity on their phone and does it with the child using things at home; the app tells them what to do and what to say. The child never uses the app. | Parent leads every activity: selects/reads aloud the weekly picture book, gathers craft and practical-life materials, and facilitates each day's prompts. Described by the official bundle page as giving "step by step instructions" for the parent to follow; a third-party review (Miller Acres, 2024-06-05) characterizes parent involvement as substantial, including adapting lessons to the child's readiness. |
What each one actually is
The Peaceful Preschool is written by Jennifer Pepito, who has homeschooled for over 25 years and graduated six children. It is 26 weeks, one letter a week, each paired with a picture book, a letter craft, a practical life skill, counting and motor activities, art and nature. It covers uppercase and lowercase letters in print and cursive, sensory-based letter sounds, numbers 1 to 10, fine and gross motor and practical life. It costs $49 as a PDF or $99 as a print bundle, with a free sample and no refunds on digital purchases. The official FAQ says it includes optional Bible verse cards but no religious instruction. A third-party review describes core lessons of 15 to 20 minutes, four days a week, with the fifth day for outings; the company itself does not publish a schedule. Picture books are sourced separately.
Kindy is $9.99 a month and secular. A free readiness check places the child by ability across literacy, early math, language, thinking, social-emotional and fine motor skills. Each day the parent gets one 10 to 15 minute hands-on activity with what to do and say, taps how it went, and tomorrow adjusts.
Letter of the week versus letters when your child is ready
Letter of the week is a lovely rhythm and a fixed one: A in week one, Z in week 26, whatever your child already knows. The Peaceful Preschool's FAQ says parents may adapt or slow down, which is honest and also means the parent is doing the placement. Kindy does the placement from the readiness check and re-evaluates from every rating, so a child who arrives knowing half the alphabet spends their time on what is still on its way.
The Peaceful Preschool is generous in scope for a book: practical life, nature, art, gross motor. Kindy adds the strands a book cannot practise on its own schedule, listening, sharing, separation, and thinking, and chooses among all of them each day.
Where The Peaceful Preschool is the better choice
A gentle, literature-led rhythm for a one-time price. Picture books at the centre of each week, practical life skills, crafts and nature, all from an author with decades of homeschooling behind her. For families who want the preschool years to feel like a story, it is a well-loved choice at $49.
Print and cursive letters, and a next step. The Peaceful Preschool covers cursive forms alongside print, and the company's kindergarten program follows. Kindy ends at kindergarten.
Where Kindy is the better choice
It starts from your child, not from A. Placement by readiness check, a different activity every day, and progress that reflects what your child can actually do. Mastered letters circle back for review so they stick.
Secular, wider and shorter. Kindy covers social, self-help, listening and thinking skills alongside letters, numbers and motor skills, in 10 to 15 minutes a day with no book list to source. $9.99 a month, cancel in one tap.
Questions parents ask
How much does The Peaceful Preschool cost?
$49 as a digital PDF or $99 for the print bundle, which includes the digital copy. Digital purchases are non-refundable; a free sample is offered. Checked September 4, 2026.
Is The Peaceful Preschool religious?
The company's FAQ says it includes optional Bible verse cards as a free download but does not contain religious instruction, and describes its content as wholesome. Kindy is secular.
How long does The Peaceful Preschool take each day?
The company does not publish a schedule. A 2024 review reports core lessons of about 15 to 20 minutes, four days a week, with a fifth day for outings, and longer for cooking and nature walks.
Do I need to buy the picture books?
The books are not included and are sourced by the parent from a library or purchased from the company's book list.
Can I use both?
Yes. Families use The Peaceful Preschool's books and crafts and rely on Kindy for placement, the daily pick and progress. Kindy lets you log outside activities so they count.
Sources
Facts about The Peaceful Preschool:
- The Peaceful Preschool Bundle (product page) (accessed 2026-09-04, used for tagline, ages, structure (26 weeks), subjects, faith wording, parent role, flexibility)
- The Peaceful Preschool Bundle product JSON (Shopify variants) (accessed 2026-09-04, used for price (digital $49 / print $99))
- Peaceful Preschool Lessons Print Version (product page) (accessed 2026-09-04, used for price cross-check, what's included (234-page parent guide, 109-page printable pack))
- The Peaceful Press FAQs (accessed 2026-09-04, used for ages (2-5), faith content, refund policy, free sample, recommended sequence to Nourishing Nature Kindergarten)
- About Us | The Peaceful Press (accessed 2026-09-04, used for author facts (Jennifer Pepito), company philosophy)
- The Peaceful Preschool Review - The Miller Acres (accessed 2026-09-04, used for session_length, days per week, parent role, subjects covered, book list dependence (third-party review, published 2024-06-05))
Facts about Kindy:
- Kindy landing page (accessed 2026-09-04)
Note: Ages: the official FAQ phrases the recommended range as "2-5 year old," while the product's own marketing copy and most third-party reviews describe it as ages 3-5; both figures come directly from thepeacefulpress.com. Price: the live Shopify product data for the bundle page lists two variants, Digital $49.00 and Print $99.00, as of 2026-09-04; a separate URL (.../the-peaceful-preschool-bundle-print-version) displayed a single $99.00 regular price for the same bundle, and an older third-party review cited a $39 price, so the exact current price may vary by promotion/URL, the $49 (digital) / $99 (print) figures are the ones confirmed directly from the product's own JSON data. Days per week / time per day: not stated on the official product or FAQ pages found; the 4-days-a-week, ~15-20-minutes-per-day, optional-Friday-field-trip structure is reported consistently by third-party reviews (e.g. Miller Acres, 2024-06-05) but is not an official company claim as of this check. No third-party review specifically dated 2025 or 2026 discussing this exact product (The Peaceful Preschool, not the wider Peaceful Press catalog) was found in this search; the Miller Acres review used here is dated 2024-06-05, the most recent dated review located. A broader July-2026-updated directory listing (homeschooltools.net) describes The Peaceful Press company overall (not this product specifically) as Christian-worldview with 30-60 minute daily sessions and math/phonics sourced separately, this conflicts with the product's own claim of covering phonics and counting, so it was not used for this product's skills_covered/session_length fields, only mentioned here as a data point.
Other comparisons
- Kindy vs ABCmouse
- Kindy vs Blossom and Root Early Years
- Kindy vs Free printables and Pinterest
- Kindy vs HOMER
- Kindy vs Hooked on Phonics
- Kindy vs Khan Academy Kids
- Kindy vs Lingokids
- Kindy vs Lovevery
- Kindy vs Meadowlark Learning
- Kindy vs Playing Preschool
- Kindy vs Reading Eggs
- Kindy vs The Good and the Beautiful Preschool
- Kindy vs Time4Learning
- All early learning tools compared